New era for South Australia’s judicial system

South Australia’s new Court of Appeal will today hold a Special Sitting, marking the start of a new era in the State’s judicial history.

Five judges have been appointed to the Court of Appeal with Justice Trish Kelly named the Court’s President - the only serving woman President of a Court of Appeal within Australia.

Justices David Lovell, Sam Doyle, Mark Livesey and Chris Bleby, make up the remainder of the Court. Each is renowned for their appellate knowledge and skill.

Attorney-General Vickie Chapman says their combined experience and knowledge will ensure the Court is perfectly equipped to handle its appellate workload.

“These Judges will develop specific judicial expertise in appeals, helping to streamline matters and ensuring the system works efficiently,” she said.

As of today, there are 30 matters listed before the Court; 17 criminal matters and 13 civil matters.

The Court of Appeal was established through changes to the Supreme Court Act 1935, which passed State Parliament in late 2019.

“This is a significant reform for South Australia which will help our Courts work more efficiently,” said Ms Chapman.

“South Australia has never had a representative on the High Court of Australia. I am certain the establishment of our Appeal Court will shine a light on the legal talent from our state and I hope to see a local representative appointed to the country’s highest court in the near future,” she said