List unveiled! New open space projects funded

South Australians will benefit from new and improved public spaces in their neighbourhood, with 27 priority projects receiving grant funding.

$22.3 million of Marshall Liberal Government grants have been allocated to ‘shovel ready’ local council projects, including new walking trails, playgrounds and recreation hubs.

“The 2020/21 round of the Open Spaces and Places for People Grants program has focussed on projects that will create employment and have public health benefits,” Minister for Planning and Local Government Vickie Chapman said.

“We are proud to partner with metropolitan and regional councils to deliver these projects, which will create fantastic outdoor and community public spaces for South Australians to enjoy.

This round was incredibly popular with 43 councils applying for funding. The independent assessment panel rated 27 of the applications as priority projects, across 21 council areas.

The Open Spaces and Places for People grants program requires councils to match the Government’s contribution, and use the money for projects that improve public realms and support climate change initiatives.

In order to fund all priority projects, the Marshall Liberal Government added an extra $2 million to this grant round, bringing the combined State Government, council and additional contributions to $57.5 million.

“Each project will significantly improve and enhance the area, while creating a pipeline of work for local tradespeople,” Minister Chapman said.

One of the successful projects is the City of Charles Sturt’s Military Road and Main Street Upgrade and Public Plaza, which received almost $2.7 million.

“This will transform the western end of Main Street into a public plaza, and revitalise the streetscape of Military Road,” Minister Chapman said.

“The independent assessment panel deemed this a high priority project, as it will improve road user safety and access, encourage active transport and integrate the space with Henley Square,” she said.

“This is fantastic news for the project and for our Charles Sturt community," City of Charles Sturt Mayor Angela Evans said.

"This funding means we'll be able to complete the project and include the proposed public plaza on Main Street between Seaview Road and Military Road. The plaza will complement the existing Henley Square precinct, providing another beautiful space, with seating and greenery, to benefit our residents, visitors and our local businesses."

Member for Colton Matt Cowdrey said it is a crucial development, which will enhance the area for locals and visitors.

“This partnership between the Marshall Liberal Government and the City of Charles Sturt will see the popular Henley Square Precinct significantly extended,” he said.

“This section will include more trees, shade and public seating areas to complement the original development.”

The 27 successful 2020/21 projects are;


Council Area

Grant Amount

Reviving Laneways to Adelaide’s West End – Stage 1

City of Adelaide


Paxton’s Walk Revitalisation

City of Adelaide


Events Infrastructure Rundle and Rymill Parks

City of Adelaide


Port Willunga North Coast Trail Park

City of Onkaparinga


Fremont Park Eastern Upgrade – Stage 3

City of Playford


Tanunda Recreation inclusive Playground

Barossa Council


Murray Coorong Trail

Mid Murray Council


Military Road and Main Street Upgrade and Public Plaza

City of Charles Sturt


River Torrens Linear Park Shared Path Enhancement – Stage 2

City of Norwood, Payneham and St Peters


Flinders Ranges Streetscaping Implementation


Flinders Ranges Council


Wallaroo to Moonta Walking and Cycling Shared Path

Copper Coast Council


Normanville Foreshore Project

District Council of Yankalilla


Upgrade Goolwa Beach Public Spaces

Alexandrina Council


Nairne Village Green – Play and Youth – Stage 2

Mount Barker District Council


Streaky Bay Youth Precinct

District Council of Streaky Bay


Apex Park Stage 2 Redevelopment

City of West Torrens


Queen Square Activation Project

Copper Coast Council


The Quorn Bush Tucker Walk – Stage 2

Flinders Ranges Council


Dunstan Adventure Playground Redevelopment

City of Norwood, Payneham and St Peters


Golden Fields Adventure Playspace

City of Tea Tree Gully


Princes Park Community Recreation Hub – Stage 1

Town of Gawler


Hamilton Reserve Rejuvenation

Town of Walkerville


Hugh Johnson Boulevard Regional Reserve

City of Marion


Land Purchase for Shared Path

City of West Torrens


Revitalisation of former Buffalo Site

City of Holdfast Bay


E.A. Carlson Reserve and Playspace Upgrade

City of Port Adelaide


Green Trails Program – Little Para River

City of Salisbury